Essex renamed to celebrate the legacy of Game of Thrones

Essex renamed to celebrate the legacy of Game of Thrones

Following the most anticipated finale in television history, four regions across the UK have been transformed into the World of Westeros to mark the Digital Download release of Game of Thrones: The Final Season.

In this Kingdom-wide takeover, Essex, Doune Castle in Stirlingshire, Blackpool and London’s Covent Garden have all pledged their allegiance to the legacy of the show by unveiling signs with their new names, encouraging members of the public to find them.

With Thrones-fever ever present throughout the UK since the show’s opening episode in 2011, people up and down the country now have the opportunity to relive and celebrate the fictional locations, with the following signs being unveiled:

  • Essos – formerly known as Essex
  • Winterfell – formerly known as Doune Castle, Stirlingshire, Scotland
  • Highgarden – formerly known as Covent Garden, London
  • Castle Black-pool – formerly known as Blackpool

Lisa Bone from Visit Essex comments: “Visit Essex is so excited and proud to be linked with one of the biggest shows ever in history. We have fully embraced the Game of Thrones takeover of Essex, now named Essos and to have a visible connection to the show outside one of our most iconic attractions, Colchester Castle in Britain’s first city, is a huge opportunity. We look forward to welcoming visitors from far and wide to see it!”

The signs will be available to visit for a limited time only to mark the Digital Download release of the Final Season.  Fans around the UK are challenged to find the signs and encouraged to post a selfie, tagging @HBO_UK (Twitter) / @HBOUK (Instagram) with the hashtag #GoTTakeover.

The Final Season of the ground-breaking Game of Thrones franchise is available via Digital Download now.

All articles on this news site are submitted by registered contributors of EssexWire. Find out how to subscribe and submit your stories here »